Charleston with Jackie

A few minutes ago I noticed that this YouTube video, entitled “Jackie Wilson Drives Roaring Twenties Flappers Crazy,” had only eighty hits. It seems lots of folks have overlooked it, and I love it, so I am embedding the link here.

The YouTuber who put it up last January, 2live2entertain, remarked as follows: “I’m Comin’ On Back To You” – My favorite Jackie Wilson song can get any party started! Whether it’s the 1950s or the 1920s, the electrifying sound of ‘Mr. Excitement’ puts the sparks into any party, any place and any time!”

I added my own comment: “Yes. I believe it. The man was so sexy he could turn women on retroactively.”

Actually, this has always been a favorite of mine. (Of course, as someone pointed out to be, my Jackie Wilson “favorites” list is about a hundred songs.) Al Kasha and Horace Ott wrote a terrific song, of course, and Jackie’s delivery is supercharged. Power singing! Vocal pyrotechnics! Pure Jackie!

Leave a Reply

